Social Skills Program

Home/Social Skills Program

Social Skills Program

Fall 2017 Registrations Open!

**First time participants must provide a copy of child’s Psycho-educational Assessment**
Children must have a primary diagnosis of LD and/or ADHD to be eligible.

Our Social Skills Program is an 8-week long program designed for children ages 5 to 16 diagnosed with LD and/or ADHD. Participants are divided into age appropriate groups of up to eight (8) children. This program assists in the development of social skills and social problem solving strategies. It also helps to promote self-esteem and self-confidence.

Our Social Skills Program provides a supportive environment to encourage friendship, positive social/emotional behaviours and positive conflict resolution.

Program Information

About the Course:

  • 8 week program
  • Classes are minimum 1 hour and 15 minutes per week
  • Maximum of 8 children per class
  • 2 accredited group leaders
  • Fall, Winter, and Spring programs

Who is the program designed for?
Children diagnosed with a Learning Disability and/or Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) who may:

  • Avoid social contact
  • Behave immaturely
  • Be shy or timid in groups
  • Frequently fight with peers
  • Display a lack of self-esteem and self-confidence
  • Enjoy meeting other children with LD and/or ADHD

Strategies Used:
Games
Stories
Discussions
Sharing
Energizers
Activities
Crafts
Role Playing
Videos

Topics Covered:
There is an emerging awareness that many children with learning disabilities and/ or ADHD have social deficits. Some children need to be explicitly taught social skills, which would lead to self-esteem and self-confidence. The following are

  • Communication
  • Bullying
  • Self-Advocating
  • Co-operation
  • Listening
  • Respect
  • Making friends and keeping them
  • Problem solving strategies

Richmond Hill:

Location:
Loyal True Blue and Orange Home,
11181 Yonge Street, Richmond Hill

Dates:
Monday September 11
Monday September 18
Monday September 25
Monday October 2
Tuesday October 10
Monday October 16
Monday October 23
Monday October 30

Newmarket:

Location:
St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church, 484
Water Street, Newmarket

Dates:
Tuesday September 12
Tuesday September 19
Tuesday September 26
Tuesday October 3
Tuesday October 10
Tuesday October 17
Tuesday October 24
Tuesday November 1

Registration Information

Fees:
$250 for members
$300 for non members
(includes supplies and tax)

For registrations or information about Social Skills Contact Nina Safary at  tel: 905-884-7933 extension 25  or email at resource@ldayr.org


Please note: We work on first come first serve basis. There are not guarantees for a spot as children are placed in groups depending on number of registrants, their age and gender.

Fall 2017 Flyer
Social Skills registration Form

United Way Toronto & York Region